top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Top of the Bops 2017: Albums


What better way to kick start a blog than write about something everyone else is writing about? I'm kidding, it's more like tipping my little toes into the vast expanse of water that is the blogging ocean. I could write an intro to myself and my life, or I could answer 21 questions about myself, but what better way to explain who I am than through the music I constantly listen to, or at least that's the half assed excuse I'm sticking to.

Having read an abundance of 'Best of...' lists in the last week, I found myself shaking my head in disbelief that some of the best music I've heard this year has been semi slept on (Aly & AJ, Stand Atlantic, Chapel, sweeties, I'm so sorry). This year has been a big one for me, with graduating college and entering the Big Bad World, and some of these albums have become the soundtrack to these moments.

Some people will love this content, others will loathe it, but that's the wonderful thing about taste, isn't it? What I do ask, though, is that you give some of these wonderful records a chance, even if they might not seem like your kind of thing - I've taken the latter half of 2017 to explore some new music, and have found myself more than pleasantly surprised with what I've heard.

Without further ado, in no particular order, here are my bop-to-the-top albums of 2017, as Sharpay & Ryan Evans of HSM fame would say.

1. Lovely Little Lonely - The Maine

Even though I said these albums are in no particular order, Lovely Little Lonely is definitely my album of the year. It was released during a moment in my life when I was contemplating life after college, where I was going with my life, and who I was going to become. Fast forward 8 months later and I still have no idea, but without this album I might have gone slightly insane without the reminder to ask myself how I really do feel. The Maine consistently improve and develop their sound with every album, even after 10 years, and this is no exception. Lovely Little Lonely has given me a great year - I spent my first September of freedom gallivanting around Europe following the Lovely Little Lonely tour, got my first ever tattoo based on LLL, met some wonderful new people and reconnected with others. Knowing that The Maine are already working on their next album warms my cold heart, and I can't wait to see what piping hot pop-rock dish they serve next.

2. Sunday Brunch - Chapel

Honesty hour - I only started listening to Chapel a little under a fortnight ago, but I couldn't leave this out. They have this strangely unique blend of a sugar coated aggression teamed with extra-terrestrial synths and typical guitars, and it works like a beautiful mess of a pancake at sunday brunch (haha see what I did there). Caught Up is constantly worming it's way into my brain and has me humming along all day long. Having seen Chapel with Waterparks earlier this year and not having given them a fighting chance (one of 2017's bigger regrets), I definitely hope I get the chance to see them live in the next year to appreciate this magnificent marvel in person.

3. After Laughter - Paramore

Say it with me now - After Laughter deserved better! Louder for those sleeping on it in the back! Sure, it got some recognition, but nothing close to the admiration it deserves. Having grown up with Paramore, this album is a perfect representation of where they are right now. It's a big change from the self titled, but naturally so, considering the changes they've gone through as a band since. Lyrically, it's some of the most raw they've written (Idle Worship and Forgiveness especially), and the pop-driven tone of the whole record is executed so well, naturally, even. I was #blessed enough to catch the first two shows of this cycle, and it's honestly the most fun I've had seeing them thanks to the tracks from this album. Give it a bop, I can promise you you won't regret it.

4. okay. - As It Is

It's nearly been a full year since this album came out, and I almost forgot it existed - and it's a crying shame that I almost, almost, did. Whilst a slight bit poppier in tone than their debut, the darker lyrical content on some tracks really spins this into a delightful little enigma that pops off live 200 times more than you'd ever believe. I didn't appreciate this album fully until I saw As It Is with Neck Deep back in October, and by the time I saw them again with Waterparks in November, I had streamed this most of okay. enough for it to break into my Top 100 Songs of the Year on Spotify. The dual vocals from Ben Langford-Biss and Patty Walters really add something unique to their whole deal. As It Is are one of those bands that've been around for a little bit now, but it's only this year I've seen people really talking about them. If they keep releasing bangers like okay., that's not going to stop any time soon.

5. The Peace & The Panic - Neck Deep

I didn't want to like Neck Deep this much. I didn't even care that they had new music coming out, and then I heard In Bloom and just like the Fresh Prince of Bel Air, my life had flipped turned upside down. A slightly more radio friendly affair than their prior albums (that I've since fallen in love with too), Neck Deep have managed to solidify themselves as the titans of the UK pop-punk scene, and maybe even the world. The whole backstory to this album really got me a lot more interested in the lyrical content of this album, knowing the hardship that the band suffered on a personal level really allowed for an understanding of tracks like Where Do We Go When We Go on a totally different level, and it's great the band were open about it all. It kicks off live too, with Neck Deep being honest to goodness one of the best shows I've seen in the last year, and I sincerely hope they bless me with another UK/Ireland tour on this album cycle v soon.

6. Vacation - Seaway

Hit after hit, bop after bop, this album SLAPS. I was never a huge Seaway fan, only casually listening to them in my Daily Mix on Spotify, but a friend told me to check out this album and my entire life changed on that day. It's an album that you just know is going to blow these guys up in the next 12 months - they've got the perfect mix of toe tappers and mosh makers in here, catering to old fans and new ones. The aesthetic is also on point, the album artwork one that always catches my eye in my library. There's only one flaw - I wish it was so, so much longer than 38 minutes. I think a week long version of this album would just about do.

7. Rainbow - Kesha

Not to reduce Kesha to a meme, but I have honest to god nothing but respect for my pop president. She is a god damn phoenix of a queen and should be treated as such - I've never seen a Grammy nomination so well deserved. It's honest pop. It's pop that Kesha sings from the depths of her soul with an emotion that can only be mustered by someone who's seen it all. It's the album she deserved to release, and the album we all deserved to hear. She stays true to herself, and that's all that really matters. This album brought a tear to my eye just thinking of how hard she had to fight to get this out there, and that alone makes it one of my top albums; not to mention it's honest to god some of the best pop music the 2010's have seen.

8. Dua Lipa - Dua Lipa

THIS is how you do a debut album. I've been listening to Dua Lipa since her covers on Youtube way back when, and to see just how far she's come in 2017 has astounded me. This album is so much more than New Rules. Dua has a lyrical tone that's both refreshing and like home at the same time, and she deserves every single success she gets. Every time I listen, I find a new favourite for a new reason. From the power packed pop of Lost In Your Light and New Rules to the slower set like Homesick and Last Dance, there is nothing I dislike about this album.

9. Harry Styles - Harry Styles

Kiwi is on this album and honestly, that's reason alone for it to be on this list. Seriously, though, it's not pretentious, it's not trying to be anything, it isn't trying to live up to any hype. The artist formerly known as 'One Direction's Harry Styles' has become Harry Styles the rockstar, the enigma, the swaggering suit wearing superstar he deserves to be because of this album. There isn't a week that passes by where I don't listen to this album in full at least once. It's an album of many moods, from the loud and angsty to the soft and passionate and to me, that's representative of a perfect record. I'll forever maintain that this record was robbed of a well deserved Grammy.

10. Overexposed - Sleep On It

I only started listening to Sleep On It a few months ago, just after this album was released, and they've quickly become a band I find myself turning to on a regular basis. Right from the get go, it's one of those kick-you-in-the-face albums that has an energy that's a difficult thing to capture. The lyrics are personal, yet relatable, but somehow also still catchy, worming their way into my brain like no other. It's a definite progression from 2016's Lost Along The Way. As Augustus Waters of The Fault In Our Stars fame would say, Sleep On It are on a rollercoaster that only goes up my friends.

11. Always Lose - The Gospel Youth

Hear ye, hear ye, because I am here to spread the word of The Gospel Youth. They're one of those bands I've heard about for a long time, and never quite got around to listening to. Hearing they were announced for Tonight Alive's upcoming UK/EU run, I finally checked them out and I'm damn glad I did. This album is going to be an absolute banger live, ten times more so than it already does. They're like a brilliant melodic mix of Broadside, Deaf Havana with their own unique lyricism. They're going to be touring a good bit in 2018 on some pretty big line ups, so I implore you to check them out if you can.

12. Tell Me You Love Me - Demi Lovato

This album made me forget that Demi even released Confident. It redeemed her completely - she served us pop anthems, smooth ballads and an undeniable new edge to her vocal that shines through on every track on this album. I read recently that she released this when she did because she wanted to be considered for a Grammy, and it's honestly a shame it didn't get the recognition it deserved. With every album her vocal ability grows, and even though she's still a little slept on for my taste, it's amazing to see how little she cares of anyone else's opinion with each album, and just betters herself.

13. LANY - LANY

When I find myself needing a bit of motivation, I turn to this album. The hard work that's been poured into this by LANY is absolutely evident in every chord played and word sung. It's a distinct brand of pop that's also not really pop at all. It's radio friendly, while also intimate at the same time. When I listen to LANY, it's almost like I've been taken to an island somewhere far away accompanied by nothing more than twinkling synths and dulcet tones and it's magical.

14. Shapeshifter - Knuckle Puck

If I could only crowdsurf to one song in my whole life, it'd be Double Helix. Knuckle Puck are a band I listened to for a while, but it was only when this song and this album came out that I really sat up and took notice. I finally understand all the hype now - in addition to seeming like some of the nicest dudes in music today, they have a way of taking a genre that can sometimes feel over saturated, and make it feel completely new and refreshed, almost like they're doing it for the first time.

15. Ambitions - One Ok Rock

Do not underestimate just what One Ok Rock can do. I first heard of them when I saw them with 5 Seconds of Summer in Madison Square Garden last year, and I've been hooked ever since. They've been around for over a decade, and I'm honestly shocked they aren't much bigger than they are. Ambitions is a pop-rock powerhouse, made even more impressive by the fact that this is only their second ever English language release. It's anthemic in nature, and most of the tracks on Ambitions give that little kick of energy on a dull day.

16. Red Green or Inbetween - WSTR

It genuinely shocked me when I realised this was WSTR's first full length. I've heard of them vaguely before, but it was only through the beauty that is Spotify's Release Radar that I actually listened to them for the first time. It was hearing Featherweight that got me hooked, impressed by literally everything about this album. For a long time, I stopped listening to music like WSTR because I somehow convinced myself I was 'too old' (at 23 - HA), but honestly? Red Green or Inbetween makes me feel like I'm 16 and discovering some of my favourite bands for the first time again.

17. Adornment - Greyscale

The first time I listened to this album was on a four hour coach to Leeds and it was honestly like I discovered the second coming of a slightly more emo Christ. Again, another Spotify discovered gem, but an absolute emerald all the same. There's something about the way this album is written and the vocal that really make me stop and listen. It isn't an album I can listen to while I'm doing something else - I devote all my time to sitting down and listening to every syllable. Greyscale are going to be massive in 2018 if my Twitter timeline is anything to go off, and I honestly cannot wait for them to get the recognition they deserve.

18. SweetSexySavage - Kehlani

I'm not usually the biggest fan of music like this. I'm more of an angsty guitars and shouting kind of thing (as if you couldn't tell), but once I heard Distraction I was hooked. If this is only her debut, I cannot wait to see what she does next. The fact that she's lead writer on every track is nothing short of impressive, even more so now that she's snagged a Grammy nom. It's a record that's truly individual, and I love that I know it's Kehlani when I listen to it and not just any other vocalist.

19. No. 1 Angel - Charli XCX

I'm writing this in the knowledge that Charli XCX is about to drop another fire mixtape and I'm so mad at the fact she's coming for my scalp twice in the one year. Charli XCX is the definition of a hustler, working hard at getting herself out there for years and 2017 was the year she FINALLY got the justice she deserves. I want to say that this is a guilty pleasure because I like it so much, but I'm not guilty at all - it's pure sugary bubblegum pop, feel good badassery and re-listening to it now just gets me even more excited for POP2.

20. Sidewinder - Stand Atlantic

I don't want to be that person, but bare with me for a second. Stand Atlantic remind me, in every way, of Tonight Alive in 2012 - don't grit your teeth just yet. Their excitement, the gravel in Bonnie's vocal, the unapologetic riffs, the way this whole EP made me feel is the exact same way I felt listening to Tonight Alive for the first time way back when. It made me excited, it got me invested, it truly hooked me in and made me want so much more. It sparked a proudness of sorts in me - I don't know Stand Atlantic, but every time I find myself listening to this EP it just makes me want the absolute best for them as people and musicians. I'm genuinely upset that they don't have more music for me to listen to, one because I'm selfish, and two, because if Sidewinder is their debut, things can only skyrocket from here.

21. From The Outside - Hey Violet

This album is a world away from the Hey Violet I first discovered after their 5SOS' support stint back in 2015. Taking a more poppy direction while keeping it alternative still, From The Outside is a great snapshot of 2017 really. The lyrics are relevant to the now, while still keeping up a timelessness - I know for a fact I'll still be singing along to a song about fuck boys in a few years, even if nobody uses the word anymore. There's a gothic air about it - the twinkling pianos and minor keys are haunting, but mix surprisingly well with some of the more radio made pop, and that's something I can always get behind.

22. Paradise - Broadside

My favourite thing about this album is just how distinct Oliver Baxxter's vocals are. When you're listening to this album, you know exactly who you're listening to, and I really love that. They've brought this brand of positive, romantic and somewhat socially aware lyricism to a genre that's quite angsty a lot of the time. There's a gruffness to Baxxter's voice, but the contrast between that the lightness of some of the tracks works extremely well. Paradise has something for everybody, and whenever I'm having a more stressful or negative day, putting my headphones on and blasting this really works wonders for my mood.

23. Melodrama - Lorde

Would it really be an end of year list if Melodrama didn't make the (super)cut? Pure Heroine is one of my favourite albums of the last decade, and while Melodrama doesn't stand out as much for me, there's no denying that Lorde has a sense of herself that she injects into everything she does. From the artwork to lyrics to melody to her live performance, she remains herself while creating art that's so relatable, especially for someone my age. She's an absolute force and Melodrama is a genuine piece of art - not to mention, that artwork definitely wouldn't be out of place in The Louvre.

24. Ten Years - Aly & AJ

I HAVE WAITED TEN YEARS FOR THIS AND I'D BE DAMNED IF I DIDN'T INCLUDE IT. It's pure synth pop magic and for 15 solid minutes it's like I'm actually living in The Goldbergs back in the 80's. Their vocals are still as stunning as ever, but with a new found maturity. You can definitely tell it's the same Aly & AJ who graced us all with Potential Break Up Song and Like Woah, but now they have mortgages and have had their hearts broken and have experienced so much more Life. It's got a little bit of a Haim vibe to it, with a dash of Carly Rae Jepsen too. It's not exactly an album considering it's only 4 songs, but it's honest to god deserving of every listen.

No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
bottom of page